PDA

View Full Version : Tap the wrong tree?

PaulNewbie
01-24-2012, 12:15 PM
Newbie here probably asking a question that has been asked many times before. Sorry for that.

I decided to get involved a few weeks ago, bought stuff and ready to tap (probably next week, live in CT)

I have looked up ways to identify maple trees without leaves. Basically I am going for opposing buds. Some trees are young so flaking bark may not be a way to detemine.

My question is:

If I tap a non-maple will it sap clear?

I figured that I would test each tree I tap by taking a small amount and boiling it in a pan on the stove to see if it is maple....is that a good idea?

Thanks
Paul

spencer11
01-24-2012, 12:19 PM
the taking a small amount seems like a good idea. my first year i tapped a oak tree that was right next to a maple tree. i didnt get ANY sap from that bucket which makes sence. my younger trees here in NH have smooth bark that is starting to flake. and mine typically have moss on them to.

spencer

Ecnerwal
01-24-2012, 02:52 PM
Won't help much this year, but over the summer, work out a method to mark them with the leaves on so you can see it in the winter. It's not super-impressive but it sure beats making mistakes. For this year, you may get an idea by looking at what leaves are under the snow (if you have any left - our snow is raining off again today) or if there are a few leaves still on the tree, which are often oak or beech, but you can look at leaf shape and see that.)

If you get any sap, just tasting it will normally tell you, no boiling needed.

smokeyamber
01-24-2012, 04:55 PM