PDA

View Full Version : Stainless Steam Pan

lynxridge
01-18-2012, 06:35 AM
I am a newbie to this whole sugarin' thing and am looking into getting a couple of stainless buffet steam pans. I have noticed that they all vary in gauge. Does it matter a whole lot what gauge it is? Thanks

RileySugarbush
01-18-2012, 08:14 AM
They will all work. Thinner will boil a little better.

smokeyamber
01-18-2012, 08:25 AM
Welcome to the fun !!! Restaraunt pans are a very good way to start, with a block arch if outside is the cheapest. Lots of great info here on them so you will do well. I ordered mine online and just went for the cheapest I could find, go full size and 6" deep to allow plenty of depth for sap. Make a frame if possible to support them it you are using a block setup since blocks move a bit.

lynxridge
01-18-2012, 08:41 AM
Thanks for the advice! How do you go about making a frame? I don't own any welding tools, so is there a way to make a frame another way? Without handles, what is the best way to get the syrup transferred from pan to pan or into a finishing pan?

RileySugarbush
01-18-2012, 10:09 AM
You can just hang them from there lips on the blocks. If possible, lay a strip of steel across between the pans, to fill in the gap. The whole rig will move around and the pans will gap some. Run them as deep as you can without too much splashing loss.

A small saucepan works well as ladle.

lynxridge
01-18-2012, 10:38 AM
Thanks I'll see if I can dig up some steel pieces to fill the gaps.

Maplehobbyist
01-18-2012, 06:14 PM
Lynxridge,