PDA

View Full Version : Question For the Sap Gurus

Tapping Wolf
01-08-2012, 05:05 PM
Looking for some knowledge....in general will a larger tree yeild more sap than a smaller one....what I mean is if you put just one tap in a suagr maple 60 inches in dia. and one in one that is just 10 inches...will the bigger tree (all else being equal) generally produce more sap? obviously every tree is different but just want your thougts on the matter...

Ausable
01-08-2012, 05:39 PM
Howdy Tapping Wolf - I shouldn't answer this - as -lol- no one will agree with my answer. I was taught a whole lot of stuff by a whole lot of people about tapping and I'm still learning. I find that early in the season - a tree out in the Sun will do better then one in the shade of other trees. Tap the South side - if possible. Stay above or below and off to the side of an old tapping hole or scar. Tap over a trunk root or under where a limb branches from the tree. I don't believe tree size has much effect - EXCEPT - in larger diameter trees - you might me able to place two of three spiles and that would give you more sap. Then there is how deep do ya bore a tapping hole and don't set your spile to tight or ya split the bark and waste sap -------etc. etc....Oh yes - always look up and check the tree top prior drilling a hole in a new tree - embarasing to tap an Eastern Hemlock and we won't talk about hemlock sap ------lol--------Mike----

Thompson's Tree Farm
01-08-2012, 05:46 PM
In general, yes. Think of the tree as a reservoir of carbohydrates that is recharged each time it freezes. A larger trunk has more sugar stored and as it thaws, more sap is pushing down the trunk trying to get out.