PDA

View Full Version : Zero tank?

whalems
12-14-2011, 04:32 PM
I just purchased a Zero brand dairy tank. How do I know if it is a vacuum tank or not? I am new to vacuum and am considering adding vacuum, If I have a vacuum tank do I need a releaser? I do not have a vacuum pump yet. I don't what to have to purchase more then I need but also don't want to come up short on supplies. Any and all suggestions/comments welcome. Thanks, Mike

PS. The tank is a round 600 gallon with a oval lid and seal. Not sure how to close lid either???

12-14-2011, 04:58 PM
If you have a good tight system a gast 1550 may work and remember if it is a zero tank then you have to keep the vac low but I I don't know how low somebody on here will know.

Teuchtar
12-15-2011, 05:55 PM
15 to 20 inches is a good target. Be sure to use a vacuum relief valve, because the vacuum goes quite high as the lines freeze up at night.

adk1
12-15-2011, 07:31 PM
Next year I plan on buying the insulted front for my Leaser 2x6 arch and adding a blower to it. That will increase my boil and save on wood. Year # 3 I will look seriously into vac

ClarkFarmMapleSyrup
12-16-2011, 06:11 AM
the one thing i have heard about insulating your arch very tight is that it doesn't get as hot as it used to in your sap house! I know a guy who insulated his arch and said he got cold because so much heat wasn't being thrown into the sugar house. It was concentrated in the evaporator, so that will be good for your wood saving, and your boil rate.

Typical8
12-16-2011, 06:27 AM