PDA

View Full Version : Best way to cut a hole in stainless?

heus
12-11-2011, 05:51 PM
I need to cut two holes approximately 1 1/4 inches in my 22 gauge steamhood for the inlet and outlet plumbing. What is the best way to make the holes? Is there a special bit for stainless?

sapsucker78
12-11-2011, 06:53 PM
I am no expert on this but the guy that does my stainless work always stresses that you do not use any type of blade that is any type of normal steel. The carbon in the blade will inbead in the stainless and make your stainless rust! He says any type of cutting or scrapping on your stainless with carbon steel will do this.

Rossell's Sugar Camp
12-11-2011, 07:03 PM
I would use a hole saw for something that big. It will cut a nice perfectly round hole.

Dennis H.
12-11-2011, 07:22 PM
Use a greenlee hole punch, They are used buy electricians to puch holes into boxes for stuff like conduit.

You 1st need to drill a hole, something like a 1/4" then put one half of the punch on one side of the metal and the other half on the other.
Use a wrench of socket and ratchet. Punches a nice round hole the size of your liking.

maplwrks
12-11-2011, 07:23 PM
Like Dennis said---a Greenlee punch

Toblerone
12-11-2011, 07:26 PM
For rough holes, I have used a dremel cut-off tool or a sheet-metal nibbler, but the holes were very rough and not a perfect circle.

RileySugarbush
12-11-2011, 09:17 PM
For lot's of holes, a greenlee punch is best. That is what I have used to make drop tube pans. Look to borrow one or maybe rent. For only a couple, a Unibit is another good choice. Expensive but very handy.

http://compare.ebay.com/like/200606939920?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar

Squaredeal
12-12-2011, 03:00 PM
Use a bi-metal hole saw. I have a Greenlee punch set, but I think it only goes up to 1" or so. I have drilled 2" holes with a bi-metal hole saw on stainless that has been outside for 8 years. Looks pretty much the same as the day I drilled it.

maple flats