PDA

View Full Version : Coal?

Sako
12-08-2011, 08:09 PM
Would like to now if any of you have used a little coal in your stoves while burning wood?
I have access to about 300 lbs of coal that appears to be about 1in or smaller. I have only used wood in my homemade Ao&uf arch.
Could you put handful or so once in awhile?
thoughts appreciated
Thanks
Chris

Ausable
12-08-2011, 08:43 PM
Would like to now if any of you have used a little coal in your stoves while burning wood?
I have access to about 300 lbs of coal that appears to be about 1in or smaller. I have only used wood in my homemade Ao&uf arch.
Could you put handful or so once in awhile?
thoughts appreciated
Thanks
Chris

Hi Chris - In a former life - LOL - I was a Boiler Operator in an Electric Generating Plant..... The answer is probably yes if it is soft coal it would be ok the way you describe doing it. --SMILE-- However - if you happen to have some Western - Hard - Low Sulphur Coal -- use it for gravel or fill. We would use that stuff in our boilers - but it had to be pulverized through pulverizing mills till it was like black talc - heated and blown into the boiler (Won't Bore You with detail). We did a test to prove a point once and made a small pile of it on the ground and poured gasoline on it and put a match to it - the gasoline burned great the coal just sat there in its pile and laughed. Soft coal or coal for home heating would work fine.......Mike

palmer4th
12-09-2011, 08:12 AM
Good Question! I was wondering that myself

Ausable
12-09-2011, 08:29 AM
Remember though - The ash produced from burning coal is nothing like wood ash. It might have some nasties in it - you don't want to deal with----Mike---

HazensNotchSugarShack
12-10-2011, 08:59 AM