PDA

View Full Version : Building a cheap evaporator

BCurry01
12-07-2011, 05:51 PM
Hello,
Made about a gallon of syrup in 2011 on an old pan I found in my dad's basement. Roughly 2*4*2. Not very deep. Set up on blocks. Had a great time boiling sap and drinking beer. Now I'm hooked and Looking to upgrade, but cheaply. Thinking about making an arch out of a 55 gallon drum with a wood stove kit. Legs, Door, Exhaust. Has anybody every used on old stainless sink for a pan? And what are your thoughts about pulling off the syrup from the bottom of the sink / Pan. Or any other ideas on a cheap evaporator for about 50 taps. Found some tress and a friend got me some buckets. Can't wait for Spring. Bill

smitty76
12-07-2011, 07:13 PM
Hello Bill,
I have no experience with using a ss sink, but have read several posts on here about them. Not exactly sure as how to draw off from the bottom. however, a 55 gal drum and stove kit is a good low cost upgrade. We started with one we built that was about 3' x 3' ss welded pan and it worked great. The only suggestion I have is to fire brick the bottom half of the barrel, as it will greatly improve you efficentcy and boiling rate.

Good luck,
Smith Family Maple

bobsklarz
12-07-2011, 08:49 PM
Go to Amazon and under books, type in "Backyard Sugaring" A new third edition just out will give you ENDLESS suggestions on going the "cheap" route with wonderful results. Good Luck!

Stamford sugarmaker
12-07-2011, 10:22 PM
X 2 on "Backyard Sugaring". Great book to get you started!

Peter

markct
12-08-2011, 03:04 PM