PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have any ideas on how to make a Installation Tool?

MapleLady
02-23-2006, 10:24 PM
I'm looking for a plan on how to make a tubing installation tool. Have some bad hand problems this year and know that I won't be able to fix lines or install new ones. Saw one of these scissor style tools with a double line holder on it and wondered how hard it would be to make. Any help would be appreciated!

Deb

royalmaple
02-23-2006, 10:53 PM
I can send you some pics of mine if you like. Two pair of vise grips and some light fab work and you'd have one. Especially if you were looking for function and not something pretty.

Take a look at my pics and see the nice finger close call with the tool. Still a ()*_* trying to type 1 week later.

After I paid basically 200 for one, I studied it and said " I could make this". But hard to make schematics and measure the thing at a dealers store.

MapleLady
02-23-2006, 10:57 PM
That would be great. Since I was just diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis I'll take any help I can get. It doesn't have to be pretty :D . Ouch your finger sure looks like it hurt I'll definitely keep mine out of the way.

Deb

royalmaple
02-24-2006, 09:29 AM
Picture does not do it justice (cut that is). At an angle from my nail to tip, it sheered the side/tip of my finger clean off, right down into the meat.

Oh and yeah it does hurt.

I'll take some pics and upload them to the picture service fo you and anyone else to look at.

maple flats
02-24-2006, 04:34 PM
I have the "pro made unit" that is not pretty, weld spatter, sloppy looking welds and quite crude but it does work. Mine is not the parallel model. Don't know how much easier they would be BUT as crude as mine looks it does the job quite well. It would be simple to make if you have the measurements.

MapleLady
02-25-2006, 12:31 PM