PDA

View Full Version : Blower

Lance
02-22-2006, 07:37 PM
Howdy, All - I wanta put a blower on our 7 yr. old wood fired D&G 2x6 with preheater. I put in a bunch more taps this year and want to get the evap as tweaked as can be so I'm not boiling for 2-3 days straight. I talked to a dealer who said he could get me a blower kit for $685 but given the money I've already spent this year, I'm not real keen to spend another big chunk. I've got no experience with sheet metal but am a pretty quick learner. Can somebody give me a Blowers for Dummies lesson so I can get this old D&g crankin'? Thanks in advance!

Rob Harvey
02-22-2006, 07:59 PM
I believe if you look back in the homemade maple equipment section you will find it. Rob

Sugarmaker
02-22-2006, 07:59 PM
Lance,
I got my 550 CFM blower from Grainger with a 2 speed switch for around $150.00 and then fabed the tube into the fire box. Pictures on the web site. Hope this helps. You may not need 550 cfm maybe 300? Just a guess.

Chris

brookledge
02-22-2006, 09:14 PM
Lance
You probably can get one free or very cheap by going to someone that sells new furnaces and see if they will give you one out of an old one they have removed. May have to search around to find the apropiate size. They could also fab up tin to adapt to your arch
Keith

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-22-2006, 09:23 PM
Lance,

You can make a crude duct out of roof flashing and install it in the fire door if you are installing it on the front. Flashing is aluminum, cheap and easy to work with if you don't have much time or don't want to make something permanent this year. :D

Jim Brown
02-24-2006, 02:06 PM