PDA

View Full Version : newbie

Skarda Maple Farms
10-07-2011, 08:18 AM
Hi so I am new to this site and need advice. I have been tapping for about 5 years and just bought an evaporator that was a 2x6 maple pro. The rep told me it could handle at least 500 taps. My sugar bush has mostly silver maples but there are over a thousand mature trees. My question to you guys would be, should I use 500 taps or just start with 250? When I purchased the evaporator I also purchased 250 taps, holders, and bags. Please help

wiam
10-07-2011, 02:57 PM
How much time do you have to boil? If you can afford more put them up. Usually can find someone to buy extra sap. You should be able to handle all those with a 2x6 if an ro is added later.

Skarda Maple Farms
10-07-2011, 05:23 PM
Thanks for the advice. I took off every day in March so I have the time. I was wondering if I could collect the sap all by myself or should I look for help. Doing the math that is a lot of potential sap to handle on 500 taps on just bags. In the past I had a max of 12 taps and a good old fashion turkey fryer. I do have a 4 wheeler that will help.

wiam
10-07-2011, 07:29 PM
I have gathered 500 buckets in the past by myself. I think it took about 2 to 3 hrs to gather.

Skarda Maple Farms
10-07-2011, 11:24 PM
I will now have a 500 tap operation but the only thing I am lacking would be storage bins for sap. Like I said I have a 4 wheeler and I thought of placing a 35-40 gallon barrel on the back. Then I would place a hay wagon hooked to a tractor outside of woods to unload my 4 wheeler. Does that sound like a plan or a disaster?

Skarda Maple Farms
10-07-2011, 11:37 PM
Would you know of cheap storage bins to use? Also what size bins to use? I thought of using 2-450g bins for the wagon and maybe 35-40g on the 4 wheeler.

dschultz
10-08-2011, 06:41 AM
Skarda
Where in WI are you?

maple connection
10-08-2011, 06:47 AM