PDA

View Full Version : Wednesday

Jay
02-19-2006, 10:24 AM
Hope to get started Wednesday here in Greene County, looks like I might get a little sappin weather Wed-Fri but long range says cold for the next week.......hope it changes. Jay

Jay
02-21-2006, 07:11 PM
I think I am going to hold off a little longer :? This is my first year tapping up at the farm (100 miles N of where I live) But last year I kept a log and I didnt tap down home until 03/01 and I had a small run on 3/5 & 3/6 but on 3/7 & 3/8 I had great runs. I know that was last year but we will see. Jay

Jay
02-27-2006, 07:17 PM
Just checked the 15 day on Accuweather, only 1 day in the 40's up to 3/13. How much longer? Jay

Jay
03-04-2006, 08:41 PM
Looks like game on,I am going to start tapping Mon. Looks like good sappin weather through next Wed or so.

Jay
03-07-2006, 07:58 PM
Well, I plan on being up at the farm by 6:00am tomarrow (Wednesday) and hope to have it all tapped by about noon. Hope it does not turn into a disaster somehow, the last 4 years down at home I only did 30 taps now I jumped to 315. Went through my tubbing on Mon and fixed a few spots had some close calls with trees coming down with all the wind we have been having but none on the lines. So I guess I will know tomarrow. Jay

Sugarmaker
03-07-2006, 08:19 PM
Jay,
Thats a big jump 30 to 315 taps. Are you selling your sap?
Chris

Jay
03-08-2006, 03:06 AM
Chris,at first I was going to but then the guy who delivers the mail has a 3X10 and we worked out a deal for 50/50 syrup split with the sap that I bring over. I think its going to work out good until I get my place set up,plus he is alot closer then the guy I was going to sell the sap to. He was down 300 taps this year due to the catipillers so it kinda works out. 4:05 I am walking out the door. Jay

maple flats
03-08-2006, 04:44 AM