PDA

View Full Version : Good Book

Studhauler
08-31-2011, 03:52 PM
Someday I would like to try my hand at making maple syrup. Can someone recommend a good book to read on the subject. I have zero experience.

Thanks

waysidemaple
08-31-2011, 04:06 PM
North American Maple Producers Manual.
http://leaderevaporator.com/p-120-north-american-maple-producers-manual-book.aspx

Scott

ALSMAPLE
08-31-2011, 04:08 PM
North American Maple Syrup Producers Manual has everything you could need.A little pricy but well worth it.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/North-American-MAPLE-SYRUP-Producers-Manual-1996-Book-/310342329816?pt=US_Nonfiction_Book&hash=item4841d825d8

cut and paste this for a used one on ebay ,not the latest addition.I don't think there's many changes.

maple flats
08-31-2011, 04:17 PM
That older version will get you started. Many improvements and changes have occured in the maple world but that will not affect the basics. To get started you just need the basics.

SapZilla
08-31-2011, 06:00 PM
That should more then get him started. We have a member on here who read it three times, never made syrup, and feels comfortable enough to answer question that other members ask. A real pro I tell you.

bees1st
08-31-2011, 06:04 PM
a really good read although not very technical is
"The Maple Sugar Book Being a plain and Practical Account of the Art of Sugaring" by Helen and Scott Nearing. 1st published in 1950. Long out of print it can often be found on out of print book sellers on line. A good addition to any sugarman's library

adk1
08-31-2011, 07:38 PM
Oh yeah, I bought my NAMPM Vs last year. I bet I heave read it cover to cover 5 times or more, still reading a different chapter each night. I keep learning things that I missed the previous read. I look forward to reading it every night in bed.

3rdgen.maple
08-31-2011, 09:55 PM