PDA

View Full Version : Wet/Dry Line

philkasza
08-29-2011, 06:22 PM
I guess I am still learning about vac systems and people talk about wet and dry lines. I don't know the difference. All my lines have sap running through them so I would guess they are all wet or at least the sap is.:lol: Seriously, I am trying to put up a very efficent vac system for next year so if any one has some tips advise thanks in advance for sharing.
Sam

08-29-2011, 06:44 PM
It is when the mainline is two stacked on top of each other so one is always full of sap then to one allows vac to transfer better or in the morning when the lines are frozeen the sap can still flow into the dryline

maple flats
08-29-2011, 07:42 PM
If you will have a smaller system you only have a need for one line. When a system gets bigger it helps to have a wet/dry system. In that the dry line is hung several inches above the wet line (in my case 12" above). This is called a conductor system. No laterals run directly into a wet/dry system. Laterals run into mains and where the mains enter the conductor system, they enter at a T that seperates the wet/dry line, either straight inline or out to the side. This tee is usually larger than the wet.line Then the sap falls to the bottom and runs into the we line while the air (gases) rise to the dry or vacuum line.
As an example, I have set up a wet/dry with 1.25" wet and 1.5" dry lines. This will handle the 3000 maximum taps I will have on this system. My mains are 1" or 3/4" that carry the lateral collected sap from sections of woods. My 3/4" and the 1" are max 1000' long, and they run to the wet dry conductors and are sepparated to go to the wet or dry lines. The conductors then go to the releaser. At certain times of hard run or early in the day when the wet line may be frozen and the sap starts to flow in part of the woods, the dry line will actually carry sap to the releaser. The main reason for a wet/dry is for better vacuum transfer out into the bush.