PDA

View Full Version : Help please for a newbie

markr
08-03-2011, 09:46 PM
I am a newbie at this maple syrup making. I just bought a used older (not sure how old) Small Brothers 2 x 4 Lightning evaporator. It has a single pan divided into a 30 inch raised flue and 2 18 inch divided syrup pan. My problem is I don't know which way the pan sits on the top ( flue forward or syrup section forward) also there is no bottom in the fire box or grates. My question is is there supposed to be some. Also I have Questions about how to properly use the evaporator. Sorry for the long winded thread. If there is anyone around that has one help would be appreceiated. Thanks in advance P.S. I will probably have alot more questions in the future.

3rdgen.maple
08-03-2011, 10:37 PM
Mark the flue end goes towards the stack and the flat section goes towards the arch doors. Yes there should be wood grates in the firebox. Best suggestion I have for you is to go pick up a north american maple producers book. Most of the dealers have it. Its will answer alot of your questions and help you with stuff you probably havent considered. Always welcome on here to ask anything as well alot of great people with alot of knowledge.

Flat47
08-04-2011, 06:52 AM
Regarding your question about metal below the grate area: they're built that way. You're not missing anything there. Search the forums here for discussion about putting evaporators on wood floors (if that's what you're doing). Grates can be bought new and used from places like Bascom's or they can be made from angle steel.

Haynes Forest Products
08-04-2011, 08:56 AM