PDA

View Full Version : Keeping the Mold and Grime off during off season

mapleman3
07-30-2011, 03:06 PM
What does it take to keep everything clean in the sugarhouse? I am sick of the mold that grows on the metal surfaces which makes me do a major cleaning when I need to bottle the bulk syrup..... its a pain in the A#$

when it rains and you get temp differences .. things sweat in the sugarhouse... there is the moisture, then if there is dust.. thats the organic... thus... MOLD

at the end of the season or in between what do you clean with? detergents??? They say not too but?????? what else ????

Cake O' Maple
07-30-2011, 05:05 PM
As a newbie, I should probably stay out of this, but that question bothered me as I spent hours and hours reading this site to learn the "bizness," so I'd hopefully make fewer mistakes as I start.

That said, since I wasn't sure which way I want to go on the subject of detergent/no detergent, I asked my Dad (who made syrup for many years) but he really couldn't remember. Then met a friend of a friend, about 60 yrs old, whose family has done syrup her whole life and still does. She said they use as little detergent as possible, and triple rinse.

BryanEx
07-30-2011, 05:38 PM
Ever maple research organization I know of states "do not use detergents to clean equipment". Regular unscented bleach is the way to sanitize. In the right concentration it will kill all organic matter, dissipate over time if not rinsed off properly, and is also on the organic allowable substance list for cleaning and sanitation purposes.

3rdgen.maple
07-30-2011, 09:15 PM
As far as the inside of the pans go nothing but water and vinegar. The tanks all get a a little bleach to alot of water and I scrub the tanks outside of the arch tables etc. No mold problems at all. I wash down the floors and walls. It might be because I like to open up the doors and let the inside of the sugarhouse breath on some nice hot summer days.

Sugarmaker
07-30-2011, 09:19 PM
Jim,