PDA

View Full Version : Cruchon vs. Sugarhill quality

Flat47
07-27-2011, 08:30 AM
As stated in an earlier post, this is my first year using plastic jugs. After nearly 20 years using nothing but glass, I ordered a bunch of Cruchon jugs (mostly quarts). After bottling the first 5 gallons, I'm left with 6 caps that wouldn't seal (just kept spinning) and 1 jug with pin holes near the handle.

Anyone else have issues with Cruchon?

Several years ago I helped a friend bottle using Sugarhill jugs, and I don't remember any issues at all. I bought the Cruchon jugs because I didn't like the artwork on the Sugarhill jugs. But, I'm not at all impressed thus far with the jugs I bought.

Jim Brown
07-27-2011, 09:35 AM
We have bottled 1000's of gallons with Sugarhill bottles and not one problem,That does not mean that the next case we open there won't be a problem but none so far.

Just our two cents
p.s. we use sugar hill xl bottles

Jim

maple flats
07-27-2011, 11:06 AM
I've used Bacon jugs for years. Early on I was getting leaks and broken seals, but when I asked I was told I over filled the jugs. I used to fill to within 1/4-1/8" of the top and immedaitely layed it on it's side. They said this was too full and to only fill to about 3/4" down in the neck. Since then I've had no problems.
I have never tried Sugarhill nor Cruchon jugs, but had thought I liked the Cruchon looks and considered getting a price on getting them printed with my label.

Ed R
07-27-2011, 12:43 PM
We use both Bacon and Sugarhill plastic containers. I prefer using the sugarhill containers and have never had any problems with them.

sugartree310
07-28-2011, 05:58 PM