PDA

View Full Version : Complete Newb Question

frjeff
07-27-2011, 06:14 AM
I will have a very small volume of sap this first year (next Spring) as I only have four taps possible on my property. So, I am contemplating doing my boiling on a propane cooker such as used for turkey frying.

I already have a 6" high full size Vollrath steam table pan for my "evaporator".

Is there any minimum PSI or BTU's necessary for this? I see the cookers advertised with varying numbers. Or, will any propane turkey fryer work?

I have a 12x28 lean to on the back of my man cave to use as my "shack". I ordered some used alum. pails, spiles and covers off Ebay. So, I'm nearly ready.

Anxious!

Ausable
07-27-2011, 06:53 AM
I will have a very small volume of sap this first year (next Spring) as I only have four taps possible on my property. So, I am contemplating doing my boiling on a propane cooker such as used for turkey frying.

I already have a 6" high full size Vollrath steam table pan for my "evaporator".

Is there any minimum PSI or BTU's necessary for this? I see the cookers advertised with varying numbers. Or, will any propane turkey fryer work?

I have a 12x28 lean to on the back of my man cave to use as my "shack". I ordered some used alum. pails, spiles and covers off Ebay. So, I'm nearly ready.

Anxious!