PDA

View Full Version : CDL or Leader 2x6

western mainer
07-22-2011, 06:37 PM
I need help. I have looked at the CDL 2x6 and seen pic. of the Patriot 2x6 which one would you buy? I'm green at this, and would like to know the pros and cons about each one.
Thanks Brian

holstein
07-22-2011, 06:56 PM
I have a cdl 2x6. I have been using it for about four years. It is a raised flu and without the blower it would boil 25 gal hr. certain fast burning wood like pine, poplar would increase that a little. last year i added a blower and i easily averaged 45gal hr. i didn't get the blower from the evaporator manufacture, it was an old furnace blower.

western mainer
07-23-2011, 06:59 AM
So with the blower is there any problem with it being open under the grates?
And how do the grates hold up ?
Thanks Brian

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
07-23-2011, 07:52 AM
I would think the grates would hold up even better with a blower because you are blowing all the cool air on the underside of the grates and cooling them.

Look at price and customer service and make sure you have a dealer that is going to be there when you need something.

holstein
07-23-2011, 05:15 PM
without the blower ash builds up and plugs the grates. It plugged the grates real fast when using wood with a lot of bark, ash elm, etc. now i only burn elm and locust that the bark has fallen off of. The blower didn't hurt the grates but I cracked the front of the arch with to much air. by the middle of the season the air was adjusted and it boiled just fine.

western mainer
07-23-2011, 05:39 PM
Thanks for the reply.
Brian

nymapleguy607
07-25-2011, 04:10 AM
I have a Leader set of pans and like them. It pretty much is a ford chevy thing, I'm not sure if CDL uses a cross flow syrup pan or even if the flow is reversible. I like that I can change direction without pulling the syrup pan.

Maple Ridge
07-26-2011, 09:43 AM