PDA

View Full Version : New Shack Positioning

Maplerock
07-05-2011, 10:07 PM
Hi,

I am new to sugaring and had a really successful (and fun) proof of concept season in 2011 with a barrel stove evaporator I made. I'm seriously thinking about building a small shack (8 x 12) at a cottage where we have 20 good sized mature sugar maples.

I have fairly limited options for positioning the shack. One is nestled amongst some of the maples. Should I have any concerns about smoke damage to the maples if the shack is positioned substantially under their canopies. I'm going to be boiling on weekends / March Break only. Maybe it's a non issue, but I thought I would check. Some open areas I do have are low lying and really wet in the spring. The other concern would be damaging roots in putting in the footings / foundation.

Any thoughts or tips would be most appreciated. I have made some searches on the subject, without success.

MapleTrader is a terrific website!

Jon (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; Sugaring near Jones Falls, Ontario)

BryanEx
07-06-2011, 09:18 PM
Knowing the Jones Falls area quite well I would be very nervous about having my stack directly under the canopy. It's not so much for smoke damage as the sparks. You will have a straight stack pushing 1000 degrees with no spark arrester and a good draft. You should see the night photos some maple trader members have posted to fully understand. There are tons of pine and fir in your area which drop tons of needles just waiting for a spark. I am guessing you have less than a 5 acre lot and you state you only want to boil for one week a year so I question building a dedicated sugar shack. What about a pavilion type structure that you can use as an open sided sugar shack but use for a picnic table the other 51 weeks a year? Do you have an overgrown area you may not have considered but could be reclaimed with a bush clearing saw and/or chain saw?

Maplerock
07-06-2011, 11:00 PM