PDA

View Full Version : tapping silver maples?

AdirondackSap
07-04-2011, 09:05 PM
Im a newbie and i have a few question about tapping silver maples. This last season was my first year making maple syrup around 300 taps mostly sugar and red maples. I am looking to expand and my parents have a 16 acre property filled with silver maples. I would say there is about 1000 taps. Most of the trees are 30 inches plus in diameter. Would it be worth the effort or is the sugar content to low to even bother. My current setup is a leader 2x6 evaporator with king pans and a preheater. Would this be to many taps for my equipment to handle. I will look into getting an R/O to increase my production. I have been reading these forums for awhile and most people think R/O is the way to go. Your thoughts and insight are greatly appreciated thanks for your time

Flat Lander Sugaring
07-05-2011, 04:37 AM
I cant comment on the silver maple issue but Leader states in their brochure on our rig is (50 to 250) taps. Having a full time job and tapping 125 gives me enough to do with out burning in. I am thinking of going more taps and what I cant boil sell to friends I know.
RO's are nice

BryanEx
07-05-2011, 06:07 AM
I can't say my experience will be the same for all silvers but here's what happened last season. I tapped two silver maples mostly due to their location with all others being sugar maple. The sap sugar content was consistently 0.8 degrees Brix less averaging 3.2 (I have sweet trees). Daily sap volume was 25% ~ 30% more but the season ended a week and half before the sugars. Sugar maple is better but if you don't have a choice the silvers will do just fine with a little extra boiling time.

lastwoodsman
07-05-2011, 07:13 AM