PDA

View Full Version : Taxes - Depriciation of equipment

OneLegJohn
02-12-2006, 12:59 PM
Thinking about actually going at this for real. I am fourth generation hobby producer- but we might as well use the experience (my Dad) and youth (my brother and I) Just curious if the accounting headaches are worth it. What is the depriciation on an evaporator? 10 or 15 years? Tractor? Buckets? Gas pump? Is it all the same? Has anyone written a book about Sugaring and the IRS? Is there a good website for the financial end of the business and staying within the lines?

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-12-2006, 01:16 PM
John,

I have an accounting degree and report all my syrup sales and expenses. There is nothing set in stone on how to depreciate stuff, but the main thing is that you stick with whatever you start. From the best I could determine, tractors are depreciated over 7 or 10 years. I use straight line depreciation which is basically the same amount of depreciation each year for whatever the length of time. I depreciation all my maple equipment including evaporator, tanks, ect over 10 year period and will start doing the same with my tractor next year.

Hope this makes sense. :)

maplehound
02-12-2006, 01:22 PM
I just give my accountant all my expenses and reciepts. He helps me break them down into difrent catagories, (tubing, fuel, addvertisment, large equipment, ect.) then he depreciates the large things , I think over 7 years, and I just let him handel it all. It has been well worht the money Ipay him. He did say that aI have about 5 yeara total to show a profit or we have to declare it a hobby and I lose the write offs.
Ron

OneLegJohn
02-12-2006, 05:37 PM
Profit? What is that? I love the accounting classes I took - but I don't remember them.

maplehound
02-12-2006, 06:16 PM
I think that is the money after all expenses. Unfortunatly there isn't ussually any :?