PDA

View Full Version : What should i do???

yukonhunter
05-31-2011, 04:30 PM
Thinking on getting a 2 x 4 evap from wf mason's Im just starting out, any suggestions or comments would be heplful. Oh yeah just bought a 10 x 18 shack with cuppola too!!! thanks guys

whalems
05-31-2011, 07:39 PM
I bought a replacement syrup pan from Bill and can say that his craftmanship is excellent! There are alot of manufactures of small evaporators out there but I don't think you can go wrong with buying from Bill Mason. You can search this site for many positive comments about bills work but I dont think you will find any negative! Good Luck, Mike

Flat Lander Sugaring
05-31-2011, 08:35 PM
how many trees do you expect to tap? how many can a 2x4 do? boiling is fun but when you do it day in and day out late at night then get up to go to work the next day it wears on you.
might think about a 2x6 can do comfortably 150.

SeanD
05-31-2011, 09:16 PM
I have his 2x6 and I'm very happy with it. He's excellent to work with and his prices are very good as well. I've never heard, nor read a single bad thing about him or his products. I'd recommend him to anyone. I'm also a big fan of putting the money right in the hands of the guy who did the work.

As far as what size to get, the 2x6 gives you a lot of flexibility. I averaged 19 gph with my own flat pans. I only had 45 taps last season so I was able to boil a couple of times per week. I'm hoping to get closer to 90 to 100 taps for this coming season and I'll be able to easily keep up. If I go way beyond that I'll need get a flue pan, but that's not a big move compared to getting a new arch. The resale on a 2x6 is also really high if you do end up going a lot bigger. You'll probably get your money back.

The 2x4 pretty much tops out and you just can't get much more out of it.

Sean

Ausable
06-01-2011, 06:42 AM