PDA

View Full Version : Assembling a Small Pipeline

Flatfoot95
02-08-2006, 03:56 AM
I am brand new to maple production. Made 15 Gallons last year with some turkey fryers and enjoyed every minute. I am hooked and now would like to start expanding.
My question is how to assemble a pipeline. My trees are all large and will have 2 to 4 taps per tree. Each line will take in about 5 to 10 trees. Land is very flat. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

maple flats
02-08-2006, 04:59 AM
I can help if you give the avg tree spacing and diam. of trees. Usually it is rare to get 4 taps in a tree with today's rec's. It would be about 3' diam or even more. I however do have 2 trees with 4. I can make mainline recs or mini set up's for the flat land as I have the same, just indicate typical tree spacing to know what you are dealing with. And how many trees do you have plus how big you want to grow on the next step.
Maple Flats (that means my land is flat too)

Flatfoot95
02-08-2006, 04:11 PM
I am looking at about 50 - 75 taps this year. My trees are spread out all over in small groups. One group is 7 trees in my front lawn dia of 18inch to 2 1/2 foot spacing is about 20-25 foot between trees. The largest group I have is a clump of about a dozen and they run about the same diameter and the spacing may be a tad smaller.

maple flats
02-08-2006, 04:59 PM