PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Help with a Small Brothers Candy Machine

GeneralStark
05-04-2011, 01:32 PM
I am new to making candy with a machine but I scored a cheap used one and am now beginning to experiment with it. I have made several good pieces of candy but the syrup is crystalizing too fast and clogging the outlet of the trough and gumming up the auger before I can make more than 5 or 6 small maple leafs.

I am using the leader instructions found here: http://www.leaderevaporator.com/pdf_files/sipple-sugar-maker-instructions.pdf

So. I have been heating to 244F, then cooling to 170F in the pig and then placing the pig on the machine.

I just found these guideline by Stephen Childs posted here: http://www.nnyagdev.org/maplefactsheets/CMB%20208%20Molded%20Sugar%20Candy.pdf

He suggests not letting it cool too much when using a machine to reduce the risk of the syrup crystallizing to fast in the trough.

My question is, should I cool to 200F for better results? Any other advice?

I have been using fancy syrup but have not yet tested for invert.

maple2
05-04-2011, 05:11 PM
we cook to 242. cool to 220.you may be leaving in the auger too long

Amber Gold
05-17-2011, 11:35 AM