PDA

View Full Version : Sap Loss

Jay
02-04-2006, 04:52 PM
This is my first year on gravity tubbing 200 + 115 on pails. I have read her a few different times that you get more sap when using pails then tubbing unless you have vacuum set up. Not being a wise A@@ but where do you lose the sap? Or is it that you dont "lose" sap it just does not run as well on tubbing as it does on pails. I know that know matter how tight your lines are even on good slope you are going to have sap freeze in your lines. Thanks ahead of time, Jay :?

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
02-04-2006, 05:29 PM
Jay,

If you lines are set up correctly and have a good slope and no sag, I doubt you will see much difference. :D Besides, the time is saves is worth it regardless! :D

brookledge
02-04-2006, 05:49 PM
The jury is still out on this one. You are going to get some who swear one is better than the other. Both have pros and cons. My self I use tubbing I work a full time job and do not have time to collect buckets. So I look at the tubing system as a labor saver.I know have vacuum on all of my taps and consider anything under .33 gal of syrup per tap a bad year. With buckets there is really no variables like there is in tubing.

Properly sized lines, different slopes, the length of the drops, and the length of the lateral lines are a few things that will be a factor in the final out come. It use to be as many as 40-50 taps on a 5/16 line, now no more than 5-8 is the rule. I have seen some that only have 4"-6" drops and that is to short better to have 30"-36" so that the sap will drip away from the hole and not stay there. No doubt about it if tubing is all flat the volume will be lower.