PDA

View Full Version : thinking about putting dissconects in drops

michiganfarmer2
05-03-2011, 07:54 AM
Those twist lock quick dissconnects for branchline... IM thinking abuot putting them in my drops right above the "T". THen I can easily replace the drop every couple years. Use the same drop, and stubby for a couple years, but also use new check valves every year, then about ever 3 years put new drops on with new stubbies.

Anyone els do this?

Does it seem like a good idea?

Gary R
05-03-2011, 12:25 PM
I'm new to tubing and I have 3 of those installed so I can access a road when needed. I would say bad idea. 1. there easy to leak 2. expensive 3. you still need to install the new drop on half of the fitting. You might as well take a tubing repair tool out with you and replace the drop all the way to the tee.

jwalker
05-03-2011, 03:08 PM
CDL has now made a t for the drop so they can be changed out every year or how ever often you'd like. They are new this year I believe. They are in the 2011 catalog.

michiganfarmer2
05-03-2011, 07:04 PM
CDL has now made a t for the drop so they can be changed out every year or how ever often you'd like. They are new this year I believe. They are in the 2011 catalog.

I looked them up. FANTASTIC IDEA! Thank you

bigtreemaple
05-03-2011, 09:21 PM

Has any body used these new T's yet? My question about them is would you want to remove the drop at the end of the season, then how would you cover the open T, or would you leave the old drop on and replace it as you tapped the next season? If you waited you would have new drops to put on and old ones to carry out of the woods at the same time.

Also I noticed in the CDL catalog the 2 piece 19/64 T that has a plug for the T after the drop is removed, did not look too convenient to me, has any body used these?

michiganfarmer2
05-04-2011, 11:45 AM