PDA

View Full Version : So how was the season Region to Region??

red maples
04-21-2011, 10:06 AM
So I know up north things are still going on. What kinda season was it Region to Region? Below average, average, above average or WOW.

Here in the southern/ seacost region of NH seems it was an above average to WOW season for alot of sugarhouses.

For me last year was kind of a bust for my first year as it was for alot of folks. So I only have that much to go on. So compared to that it was a WOW, even though it probably could have been better. but I am still learning!!!

I am hearing alot of average to above average seasons were had by most!!!

How did your region do or how is it doing so far?

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
04-21-2011, 10:34 AM
Little below average here but hard to compare with any of the rest of you as I am so much further south. Never got a big run entire season but extremely happy with what I made considering how the weather never cooperated.

danno
04-21-2011, 11:03 AM
I'd say average to above average in my backyard in Central New York, but not wow. If the weather forecasts had verafied, it would have been Wow. What's new;) That said, with new technology, I think our expectations are higher than what they used to be as we seek the 1/2 gallon/tap.

I collected enough sap to make 1/2 gal/tap, but the sugar was not there. It is quickly becoming my opinion that sugar content really seems to take a big dive on high vacuum. First 3 weeks of March were excellent, then we had a very cold week where we got no sap and then warmed up too quickly. Days stayed cool but night time lows never went below 31-32 and sap flow diminshed considerably. As usual, my sap stopped before my syrup went buddy.

550 taps
13,000 gallons sap
185 gallons syrup (135 of which was made by 3/22)

3rdgen.maple
04-21-2011, 11:06 AM