PDA

View Full Version : Stacking Tanks

Amber Gold
04-17-2011, 03:53 PM
I want to stack my two round bottom tanks on top of each other. If I do, I can just get them both under my shed roof. The 700 gallon galv. tank will be used for permeate and my new 1100 gal stainless tank will be for concentrate. I'd like to put the larger tank on top, so it'll be easier to clean. Both tanks will be your standard 4'Wx12'L maple round bottom tanks. I was going to lay some 2x lumber on top of the bottom tank, to provide some separation between the tanks and allow for some shifting. If I build a platform for the top tank to sit on, it either wouldn't fit under the roof or wouldn't provide me with any space to get access to the bottom tank to clean it.

Does anyone see why this wouldn't work?

Thanks

whalems
04-17-2011, 09:09 PM
Will the bottom tank support the weight of the upper tank? I have no experience with this but seems to be a lot of weight. just thinking out loud

Brent
04-20-2011, 10:28 AM
I don't think there's any way the tank maker build them to be stacked. I just got a 10' x 4' here holding 650 lbs. That's 4500 lbs. Yours is going to be a bit heavier. I'd build a serparate steel frame to support it independantly.

Better have a decent floor / base. Your concentrate will weigh in near 9000 lbs. and 4500 lbs on top of that.

gearpump
04-20-2011, 01:39 PM
Why do you need a 1100 galon concentrate tank? A 300 gallon tank should be fine,and would be a heck of lot easyer to stack.

danno
04-20-2011, 06:03 PM
Why do you need a 1100 galon concentrate tank? A 300 gallon tank should be fine,and would be a heck of lot easyer to stack.

I'm guessing Josh meant 1100 gal. SS sap tank to feed the RO? As long as they are seperatly framed, you should be OK. May be tough to clean the bottom tank? I framed for two 1000 gallon tanks side by side this year. Was a bit apprehensive because I'm not a builder and that's allot of weight, but had them both full many times and all was OK.