PDA

View Full Version : Selling to a retail store... help with pricing.

bison1973
04-16-2011, 08:58 PM
Here's my situation... I'm a small producer but steadily growing in sales each year. I need some help with pricing in situations that are new to me. Obviuously I have my own retail pricing and I've sold to restraunts. But now I have a chance to sell to a store who will, of course, resell my syrup. Is there a rule of thumb in this situation? They obviously will mark it up so they can make money. What type of pricing do i offer to retailers compared to my own retail prices? If it helps there are looking at buying roughly 50 one gallon jugs and 10 five gallon jugs.

Your input is greatly appreciated.

gmcooper
04-16-2011, 10:42 PM
Bison,
Not sure how much help this is but I wholesale at about 80% of my retail price. I also know that they can also sell retail for higher price than I charge so it leaves them a bit more margin to work with.

markct
04-16-2011, 10:56 PM
are they going to sell it retail in those size containers?? i have seen gallons for sale retail but dont recall ever seeing 5 gal jugs in a store! that would be for the serious pancake eater for sure!

bison1973
04-17-2011, 01:36 PM
Markct, yes they are going to sell the 5 gallon containers in the store. It's a bulk foods/ food storage type store.

markct
04-17-2011, 08:23 PM
so that would be bulk sales then not retail???? so they would mark it up the usual roughly 60 cents a lb like most bulk dealers make between buying and selling

gmcooper
04-17-2011, 09:13 PM