PDA

View Full Version : English Tin

vttsa
04-07-2011, 05:59 PM
I came across this http://binghamton.craigslist.org/grd/2289354984.html
on craigslist, I'm a high school student and I'm trying to get a sugaring operation started at my school, without a huge budget. I see this is English tin, but the price seems to be right. What are the disadvantages of English tin?
Im in Vermont, is it even legal to sell syrup from an English tin pan?

Thanks for the help!

vttsa
04-08-2011, 10:08 PM
any information anyone has on English tin would be greatly appreciated.

GramaCindy
04-09-2011, 06:06 AM
Hello vttsa, did you do a search on this sight for "english tin?" I know that it has been talked about a bit here and there.

vttsa
04-09-2011, 08:53 AM
I did do a search for it, but I was unable to find anything. I am new here so perhaps I'm not looking in the correct place. Is there a specific thread you could refer me to?

Thanks

happy thoughts
04-09-2011, 09:33 AM
Here's the link to an earlier thread. Sounds like you should keep looking because there's a good chance it's lead soldered.

http://www.mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?t=10876

It's nice to see young people interested in making syrup :) Good luck in your search!

Potters3
04-10-2011, 06:03 AM
Anything English Tin is 100% soldered with lead, and to make english tin they used lead to smooth it out. I would keep looking, not that you can't still make good syrup on English tin pans, but because of there age no one has used the stuff in a lot of years. And over time the pans tend to get tin holes in them. Look for a set of Stainless steel pans, if soldered after 1992 probably not lead soldered or welded.

Contact one of the equipment manufacturer they maybe willing to help

vttsa
04-19-2011, 06:02 PM
Thanks for the help. I have sent a letter to Leader so hopefully they can help.

spud
04-20-2011, 12:33 AM
Will the VMA buy syrup if made with pans that have lead? What about Bascom's?

Spud

PerryW