PDA

View Full Version : $2,000 to start a hobby???

Starting Small
04-05-2011, 08:12 PM
This is my first year sugaring and I have come to a conclusion. To start out in this hobby the right way and maybe sell a little syrup seems like will take about $2,000. Correct me if I am wrong or if these items I do not need with 50 or less taps.

2 X 4 evaporator/pan -$1,200.00
65 Half Fire Bricks- $115.00
Cement- $20
Filter Tank- $200.00
Hydrometer Cup- $20
50 Taps/buckets at $7.00/ea -$350

Total $1,905 X 6% Sales tax (CT) = $2,019.30

Just seems a bit discouraging to try and start up with all that cost. Right now I have a block arch and 2 catering pans. I want to expand a bit but I do not have the time to stand outside on a block arch boiling at 3 gallons per hour every 3 days. Am I crazy or is this what I really am looking at to simply have 50 taps? Thanks!

Kev
04-05-2011, 08:35 PM
well you could build a barrell evap. and not have as much in it. but yes you would still have the pan cost
you couple put a couple hundred in a homemade RO system and turn your 3 gal per hour now into more like 15 or 20 per hour (evap rate would remain the same) but your effective rate would be way up. in fact as high or higher than the run of the mill, flat pan 2x4.

:lol:or you could go get in gocart racing for a year then come back and say wow 2 grand what cheap hobby :lol:

brookledge
04-05-2011, 08:40 PM
You should be able to save the sales tax since it is agriculture
That will save some of your money
Keith

Gary R
04-05-2011, 08:45 PM
If your looking to run 50 taps, that's probably a fair estimate. I'd sell you my evaporator (12-15gph), 50 buckets and taps for $1200.

Flat Lander Sugaring
04-05-2011, 08:51 PM
This is my first year sugaring and I have come to a conclusion. To start out in this hobby the right way and maybe sell a little syrup seems like will take about $2,000. Correct me if I am wrong or if these items I do not need with 50 or less taps.

Cement- $20
Filter Tank- $200.00