PDA

View Full Version : Never made syrup like this before

BryanEx
04-03-2011, 04:01 PM
I've been producing as a hobby and/or part time business for five years now and I have to say I have never produced syrup this light or this clear since I started. I think it's very cool for a small fry to make this but at the same time... I can't sell it either. The Mason jar in the centre is graded as medium as a reference given all computer monitors display differently and my camera didn't do it justice.

- Bryan

http://www.stonebriarfarm.com/imagehosting/light_syrup.jpg

John c
04-03-2011, 04:09 PM
Nice! How big are your batches?

Kev
04-03-2011, 04:34 PM
mine was much lighter all season also
Congrats!

BryanEx
04-03-2011, 04:55 PM
Nice! How big are your batches?

To put it in US terms... about 2 ~ 3 gallons of finished syrup at a time with a sap sugar content running between 3.5 and 4.2 brix all season. It's very satisfying but less than profitable. I'm thinking I'll try a few syrup competitions to see how I stack up to the big and/or old guys if I can figure out where and how to do that.

Sugarmaker
04-03-2011, 06:09 PM
Bryan,
Nice jog on the ultralight syrup. You might do real well in competition. Go for it!
Chris

brookledge
04-03-2011, 06:18 PM
Not to knock you down but remember when youput it in thinner containers it looks lighter. so the same batch of syrup in those containers, the mason jar will seem as though it is different. good looking syrup though
Keith

Dennis H.
04-03-2011, 06:33 PM
That is some light syrup.

Down here I was never able to get below Medium the entire season.

What do you mean you can sell?? I have made only 28gals and I have already sold about 1/3 of my syrup, it has been only about 2 weeks since I called it quites for the year. It is a way to offset the costs for this "Hobby"

adk1
04-03-2011, 06:43 PM