PDA

View Full Version : Trying to start a sugaring project at a school.

vttsa
03-31-2011, 01:59 PM
To begin with, this is my first post, so forgive me if its in the wrong place.

I'm a High School student in VT, and my friend and I are trying to get a sugaring program started at our school. We have gotten permission and have done some preliminary counting of trees. I think we may have about 300 taps or so to start with. Our hope is that the maple syrup produced could go into a fund for extracurricular activities, so we are trying to keep costs minimal.

First of all, I have a few questions.
Is 300 taps a good size to start with?
how big would the arch need to be for 300 taps?

I have been sugaring with my neighbor so I have an idea of what goes into sugaring, but I'm wondering if anyone has any other suggestions?

Any information and suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

PerryW
03-31-2011, 02:16 PM
Is 300 taps a good size to start with?
how big would the arch need to be for 300 taps?

Thanks!!

2-1/2' x 8' would be a good size for 300 taps

tbear
03-31-2011, 05:59 PM
I have been thinking about approaching our local school board with the same idea! I've been thinking about it for several years...while trying to work the bugs out in my own sugaring process. Since stumbling onto this site (just a few weeks ago) I've found answers that I had to learn by reinventing the wheel...Like a cement block arch...I thought I was brilliant to come up with that! Anyway...I hope to get a sugaring project in the school at least talked about sometime soon. It'd be a great way to raise funds for...whatever! Where I'm located sugaring is quite the novelty. Please let us know how it goes! Best of luck!

vttsa
03-31-2011, 06:59 PM
Thanks.

Does anyone have an estimate for how much it would cost to start up an operation of this size?

Kev
03-31-2011, 08:27 PM