PDA

View Full Version : Help Please !

sugar ED
03-30-2011, 03:14 PM
ok the sap is running hard and I'm getting ready to fire up ,holding Tanks allmost full and with a better look into my divided syrup pan the two closes to draw off has a complete tan color on bottom of pan ,some ruffness, but no black areas ?So this is my first year on this unit ,(was a panner for years), and now I'm not sure if I should clean the pan ??? My syrup is getting darker, but no burnt taste, just alittle more maple flavor (now@ about 20 gal.) to clean or not to clean that is my question?? thank you all ,this is a great place to learn !!!

sugar ED
03-30-2011, 03:19 PM
Sorry ,I should have mentioned maybe that this is a welded SS pan

TF Maple
03-30-2011, 04:01 PM
I took advantage of this cold spell and no sap to can all the syrup I had so far and clean up the evaporator. I would have cleaned before the sap started running hard like it is now.

Jeff E
03-30-2011, 04:11 PM
Clean it! That build up will eventually get scaley and you can get scortching under them. It also drops your syrup quality.

sugar ED
03-30-2011, 05:37 PM
"Clean it! That build up will eventually get scaley and you can get scortching under them. It also drops your syrup quality. "
Thanks Jeff ,Just what I wanted to hear "not" but I've drained the syrup and cleaned it all up but THAT SPOT and oh boy, got any elbow grease !lol .. heared on here"not to use 00 steel wool" -unless you acid wash after (cause rust) ok ,and that vinger works in days (That I don't have,) Any one with ideas ? I do have acid tank wash and viniger???? Also why did this happen ? going to try to put a vidio on u tube for the not to do !!! Thanks again Jeff for the info ,hope all is going well for you !

danno
03-30-2011, 06:07 PM
It happens to everybody. If it's not burnt (black) you can boil on it if you don't have time to clean. Quickest cleaner is acid, but that still takes time, and then rinse, rinse, rinse.

sugar ED
03-30-2011, 06:35 PM