PDA

View Full Version : Filtering

Troutman10
03-29-2011, 09:16 PM
I'm new to Maple Syrup as this is my 5th post. I have a filter that I purchased with a kit from a local guy. It's the shape of a wind sock. How do I best utilize this? I'm looking to bend a coat hanger or something to outline the top while I filter. Any other ideas or pictures floating around out there? Any help is greatly appreciated.

PerryW
03-30-2011, 06:08 AM
I think the coat hanger will be to wimpy to hole the syrup.

You can built a wooden frame using 3/4" x 1-1/2" pine. Just make a square with four pieces probably 16" long and put four screws in the top (leave them sticking out an inch). You cone filters should have four loops that you slide over the nails.

Next cut four longer pieces for "legs" that will lift the square up high enough so the filter hangs high enough to slide a stainless steel pot underneath. Add some more bracing and then staple cardboard around the whole thing to help keep it warm and keep the dust out. After you dump the syrup in, put something over the top to help hold the heat in. Do all your finltering as soon as possible after take-off. If the syrup is allowed to cool off, you will have problems filtering.

You can also buy cone prefilters (paper) that you put inside the other filter. This make rinsing out the main filter much easier as the prefilter catches most of the nitre.

Mac_Muz
03-30-2011, 08:50 AM
Buy a tomatoe plant cage to support the wool filter. I rolled the 3 legs on the cage in a loop each, so it fits a large pail. I made copper wire "S" hooks to hold the filter and also use large paper clips the kind made of black spring steel with flippy lever handles (mini clamp like)

You should get many paper pre-filters, the wool will gag up fast with out pre-filters made of paper usually selling for a buck each.