PDA

View Full Version : Tell me I'm not crazy

mathprofdk
03-23-2011, 10:44 PM
This was my first year, and I only had 8 taps in, but was collecting about 40 gallons a week. I was only able to boil on the weekend, and the 1.5 gph using my turkey fryer and a huge stock pot meant I spent the whole weekend to get a gallon of syrup. Mind you, it's great-tasting stuff, but it's also expensive - probably $50/gallon just in fuel costs! :o I'm just making gifts for people, but still...

Anyway, I'm hoping to expand next year. I've spent countless hours researching here, and it looks like a cinder block arch is the thing for me. I know I could keep it really simple and just use the cinder blocks for the whole thing - stack included - but what's the fun in that? And I want to think about it now, because summer is the only time I'll be able to work on a project like this.

I do have some resources - one good friend is a welder by trade, and another is a glass and metal artist, with access to fire bricks, ceramic insulation, etc. Both have expressed an interest in helping. Also, my neighbor owns an HVAC company, so I have access to new and used ductwork, if needed.

So here's my rough plan (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16709440/myarch.pdf) (sorry for the crappy penmanship). I'll be buying a 55-gallon plastic drum for sap storage (a local seller has one on Craigslist and can certify it with just having maple favoring in it previously), and using two ideas from here - a hole cut in the top with a 2-gallon bucket inserted to pour sap in, and then a valve with copper coiled around the stack to warm the sap. I plan on using fire brick to line the cinder block, and then I get to where I have lots of questions. I'll just enumerate them. I'm amazed that you've even stayed with me this far. My god this is a long post.

1. Space is limited in my back yard - how far should this be from my garage with vinyl siding?