PDA

View Full Version : how much heat?

supersapper
03-23-2011, 09:52 PM
:confused: i had a friend make me an evaporater pan. 2'-2'. i am boiling on a twin burner, 60,000 btu cooker. the pan is 8" high with 4-6" of sap. why won't it come to a boil? it is down to 3" after 3 hours. any advice?

PerryW
03-23-2011, 10:11 PM
Try running shallower. Most people run a flat pan at between 1 and two inches deep.

supersapper
03-23-2011, 10:18 PM
thanks for the info. i am new to this and i only do about 120 gallons of sap a year. i used a single burner last year and i thought that a double burner would be the ticket.

mathprofdk
03-23-2011, 10:50 PM
You might also be losing a ton of heat. Try wrapping some ceramic insulation around the base of the burner and your pan - you'll need to leave some space for airflow. This easily doubled my evaporation rate on a turkey fryer this year.

I'm also just starting, and hoping to build an arch next year. Even with this upgrade, this took forever!

~DK

3rdgen.maple
03-23-2011, 11:51 PM
Run the pan alot shollower and it will boil. Just keep replacing the sap as the level drops. When I was like 14 I had a stainless steel pot setting on the corner of my flat pan and I drilled a hole in the bottom of it and put a nail in the hole so it would keep up with the evapotation rate. I went through a half dozen nails before I fond the right size that allowed the proper aount of sap to trickle in. 1 to 1 1/2 inches and your good for level. Oh just dont walk away from it and expect to have anything that resembles a pan when you get back.

Haynes Forest Products
03-24-2011, 07:07 AM
Take that tank and pile wood around it and never let up with the wood. Thats how I started out and we ran the sap 12" deep boild sap kept us all warm and the animals stayed away:)

supersapper
03-24-2011, 09:50 AM