PDA

View Full Version : Containers?

French
03-22-2011, 12:39 PM
Help! I'm a complete novice who was very excited on Saturday and today I am distraugt. A neighbor suggested I tap my trees. I've always wanted to but didn't know how. He drilled the holes, put in the taps/hoses and loaned me the 5 gallon buckets. Therein lies the problem. They are recycled from his carpentry business. I have about 80 gallons of sap and apparently I can't use any of it. Right? Question: do I have time to find new buckets? If we use the sap in the buckets will my friends and family get sick? I can't even imagine what was in the big 100 gallon drum that I've been emptying the sap into. Please give advice. Thanks so much.

TF Maple
03-22-2011, 12:47 PM
Check the bakeries and grocery stores with bakeries for frosting and filling buckets to replace what you have. Most are available for free or $1:00 a piece. If the buckets you used were good and clean, I would use what sap you have but replace them as soon as you can.

fishman
03-22-2011, 01:12 PM
If you have a university, prison or some other place where they serve lots of meals, they frequently have lots of them also. My son gets me 3 and 4 gallon buckets and says the university has several hundred just in the one lunch hall all for the taking.

C.Wilcox
03-22-2011, 08:28 PM
I have about 80 gallons of sap and apparently I can't use any of it. Right?

Can you elaborate a bit more on what was in the buckets? Do they have labels with skull and crossbones illustrations on them or were they drywall compound? Were they clean when you got them?

Haynes Forest Products
03-22-2011, 11:50 PM
Dry wall buckets wont hurt a thing. Paint NO. I had 2 of the square bakery buckets split on the bottom so dont RE PURPOSE THEM...they are crap

jmp
03-23-2011, 07:14 AM