PDA

View Full Version : Worst sugar sand ever

maple flats
03-18-2011, 09:10 PM
I believe the sugar sand is the worst ever this year for me. I have to reverse flow at 2 hrs and then clean the pan at 4 hrs. I have always cleaned daily but I never had to in 4 hrs before.
What are you guys getting for sugar sand? Is yours real bad too?

Rossell's Sugar Camp
03-18-2011, 09:12 PM
I wouldnt know because this is my first year using this pan but it seems like last year i got barely no sugar sand compared to this year.

Kev
03-18-2011, 09:18 PM
I had more all season than I have ever seen. my pan is reversable. so I had been opening the valve on the otherside of my syrup every 4 hours untill a bunch of sand ran out. then filter it out and pour the sap back in. it really helped hold down what I was getting in the syrup pan.well at least i think it did anyway. but I ran lighter syrup all season than I ever have so its a fair trade to me lol.
lid on the pan now with vinager water steaming. seasons over here except for the final clean up tomorrow and some more bottling

Haynes Forest Products
03-18-2011, 11:22 PM
I clean my pans every night regardless of the sand.....but its heavy. I have a 3rd pan now and its caused a differant way of doing things. I used to clean on the arch but now I need to clean the diry pan off the heat source and thats another problem. .All in all its going good

3rdgen.maple
03-19-2011, 02:07 AM
Last year I had smilar result as you but I could go about 5 to 6 hours before I had to clean out the niter. This year I have boiled for a couple weeks and not had any niter concrete buildup, that is until tonight. Pans have been all shiny on the bottom and now they are caked. I do cleanup on a regular basis and it sure has been a pleasure this year doing a water cleanup instead of a vinegar soak. Oh well it was good while it lasted.

maple flats
03-19-2011, 06:54 AM