PDA

View Full Version : Reusing 5/16 spiles

Dan W
03-17-2011, 08:59 PM
This Tear I have 125 new 5/16 spouts with tubing to plastic buckets. Would you flush out the tubing and re-use the spouts or cut off and replace the spouts for next year? I have seen on here that you can expect up to a 10% reduction in the second tear of spouts. The seasonal spouts are relatively cheap. For 30 or 40 bucks, I would rather have new spouts and full production for next year. What would you do?

ComputerSteve
03-17-2011, 09:34 PM
We use 7/16 spouts with tubing to buckets. We cleaned and reused the ones we had last year and added new ones this year and I see no difference in output. If the spouts and tubing is clean with no obstructions, I don't see any reason why output production would go down. However this is only my second year and I still have a lot to learn. I'm just a hobbyist that produces for family and gifts, so I don't like spending money if I don't have to. I would clean and reuse what you already have.

dago9000
03-19-2011, 10:05 AM
their is absolutely no reason to not reuse your spouts and tubing just make sure everything is clean. rinse with a water /bleach solution. Also remember to tap your trees at least 6 inches to the side of last years hole.

WESTVIRGINIAMAPLER
03-19-2011, 04:14 PM
I tried 100 of the new CDL clear spiles this year and tried about 250 of the Leader spout adapters a couple of years ago and I see hardly any difference in the length of time the holes stay open or the amount of sap compared to spouts that have been in for several years. I do think some of the research to where replacing new spouts every year is biased because a lot of the research is funded by the manufactures. I put them in 2 south bushes exactly the same time and saw hardly any difference 2 different years.

Three Saps Sugar Shack
03-19-2011, 05:42 PM