PDA

View Full Version : Sap running too slow?

ca2devri
03-15-2011, 09:30 AM
I think my taps are generally running very slowly (slower than I would have expected, but it's my first year). I got maybe 10 gallons from 45 taps yesterday and it got up to 4 C (40 F?). A couple of my trees gave me more than half of that!

I'm using 5/16" health spiles and I wonder if that has something to do with it? I have 5 of the 7/16" plastic spiles and they seem to be running much faster, but they're also in bigger trees. I also used a regular 5/16" bit (not a tapping bit) and I don't know if I have a good hole and fit (there's some leaking). Maybe also it's because I'm on a NE slope and the major sap is yet to come?

If I've done something wrong in the tapping I'd like to figure it out this year and improve for next, but I'm really not sure what it is.

From what others have been posting, I think I'm getting a lot less sap per tap than most. I have a feeling it is my 5/16" spiles and/or the way I tapped them?

Chris

Gravel
03-15-2011, 09:44 AM
I have experimented with many different taps getting different results from all, a lot of it depends on the tree in my opinion, I have had some trees with over 2 gallons of sap in them this year and some with a cup full, then later in the year the ones that arent putting out might be while the others that were are done! You do not want them to leak though which should not be caused by the bit, did the bark split when you put the tap in? I have heard that a regular bit will burn the wood causing the sap to not come out but do not know if there is any truth to it, I have used regular bit and tapping bit and got sap with both.

ca2devri
03-15-2011, 10:59 AM
I think that makes sense. It's not likely the fault of the tap, maybe a little the fault of the hole I made.

Perhaps I'm getting too jumpy... let's see what all the taps do in the next couple of weeks.

Chris

Kev
03-15-2011, 12:57 PM