PDA

View Full Version : Draw off temp question

northwoods_forestry
03-11-2011, 08:39 AM
Still trying to figure this one out and hoped you all might be able to provide some help.

I carefully calibrated my syrup pan thermometers to the boiling point of water before firing up the rig and when I hit 7 degrees I started drawing off a trickle. Eveything was humming along just fine, the needle stuck at 7 as I slowly drew off a couple gallons. I didn't get around to testing it with the hydrometer until I transfered to the finishing pan, where I discovered that I was well shy of syrup. Before I drew off any more I kept checking with the hydrometer and I didn't have syrup until I hit 10 or 11 degrees (the hydrometer is accurate). Is this just the way it should work or am I missing something?

Southtowns27
03-11-2011, 08:47 AM
The thermometer gets you in the ballpark, the hydrometer will get you a homerun. Yesterday when I boiled, at the start of the day syrup was coming off at 8, by the end of the day syrup was 5.5. There are a lot of variable that will effect the boiling point of water. I check every cup that comes off the evap with my hydrometer. It's the only 100% accurate way to do it.

Jeff E
03-11-2011, 08:50 AM
The draw off temp will vary each day. Also I think the probes and wiring are not dialed in exactly.
You have to go with the hydrometer.
I test the first bit that comes off the evaporator each day with the hydro, and then adjust the draw off temp to get it to syrup. I check it at least every couple of hours.

So, calibrate your auto draw off with the hydrometer, check it often, especially if the weather is changing.

michiganfarmer2
03-11-2011, 08:50 AM
I check every cup that comes off the evap with my hydrometer. It's the only 100% accurate way to do it.

Thats my belief. I dont trust thermometers. I adjust my draw off controller a few times per day according to what the hydrometer says