PDA

View Full Version : First post

WHTTLHNTR
03-10-2011, 11:18 AM
This is my first post here. Been lurking for quite some time, great site!! This is my first year sugaring and I can tell it's the first of many. I am already looking forward to next year and this one has just started. Hope everyone has a good season!!!

adk1
03-10-2011, 11:33 AM
This is my first post here. Been lurking for quite some time, great site!! This is my first year sugaring and I can tell it's the first of many. I am already looking forward to next year and this one has just started. Hope everyone has a good season!!!

Welcome! fill us in on your operation thus far!

Backyard Sapper66
03-10-2011, 01:10 PM
Welcome aboard!!
Good to have another fellow "sapper" aboard.
I'm a newby also, 3rd year with about 50 taps and a homemade evaporator. Fun as can be!!! Just be careful of the "maple bug" as it can bite you really bad!!
Good luck and have fun!!
Doug
:)

NH/Pete
03-10-2011, 01:17 PM
Welcome WHTTLHNTR

Nice to see a fellow HC member.

WHTTLHNTR
03-10-2011, 04:34 PM
NH/Pete: I figured I should join after telling people about the site. I did the same thing with HC. I just lurked and lurked.

I have a small, very small op. It's just for fun. Right now I have about 20 taps out all health spouts (I am not sure how I like them) with 5 gal buckets. I am boiling on a woodstove. I have no idea what my production is, burning all wood from property. First big boil will be this weekend. All of this is happening in an about 20x20 old out building on the property. Next year will be the investment year. I want a more efficient way to evaporate. I drink way to many "boiling sodas" (I think that is the correct term) doing it this way. I must say I am addicted and I thoroughly enjoy myself whether its by myself or with friends. Seems like a great group of people here.

Russell Lampron
03-10-2011, 06:13 PM