PDA

View Full Version : How to: Building a block arch.

Big_Eddy
03-09-2011, 12:19 PM
There have been a number of threads asking how to build a block arch.

I've been running this setup for 20 years, taking it down and setting it back up each season. I've pretty well got it as good as I think I can. Thought I would pull together a quick thread with pictures showing my usual setup.

Details - 2x3 mild steel flat pan.
Standard solid Concrete blocks
7" chimney.
Boils at 5-6 CDN Gals an hour (6-7 USGals/hr) consistently.

Pictures were taken over the last couple of years.

Build the arch.

Find a relatively level spot. Up to 4" variability is workable.
Lay a foot wide bed of sand or gravel where the blocks are to go, leveling as best you can. I keep a couple of buckets of dry sand in my shed so they are not frozen in the spring. Gravel works too.
Lay the first layer of blocks, starting with a full block at the front of each leg and level as you go. To level, tilt a low block up on edge and add a little extra sand under it. Run the arch about 18" longer than your pan and make the gap between about 2" narrower than your pan.
Lay a second row, starting with a half block on each side.
Toss broken blocks and stones in the back half of the arch to fill the arch up to about 2" below the top of the blocks.

I use a flat plate to support my chimney. Over the years I have tried elbows, exiting the back, gaps in the blocks, but this plate is the simplest and most effective. It is a 1/8" 24" x 12", with a 7" hole hacked in the middle, and a ring of 1"x3/16" flat bar welded to it. This gives a secure base for the chimney and makes building the arch simple. Chimney is supported with 3 guy wires to concrete blocks on the ground.

I built a grate out of 1/4" angle iron which keeps the fire off the ground.

Finally, drop the pan on the blocks, bring it to the front, and adjust the rear plate so that it is flush with the back on the pan.

Big_Eddy
03-09-2011, 12:32 PM