PDA

View Full Version : Building an evaporator

Rabbit River Sugar Shack
12-19-2005, 10:13 AM
We are building a new evaporator out of concrete blocks, firebrick and 5 "steam table pans." It is very close to the "Do It Yourself Evaporator" at Mother Earth News .com. Everything is coming together very well, but I have two questions that I need to have answered. How close to the bottem of the pans do I build the arch? Should it be 1 foot, 10 inches, 6 inches and so forth? The main fire box is about 24 inches square and 3 1/2 cement blocks high, from that point how high do I bring the arch, and at what angle? Should it come up at a 45 degree angle and then level off under the pans, or should it be gradual up to the flue? Any information would be a great help.

jtcinv
12-19-2005, 02:24 PM
I have been using a rig with 2 steam table pans for a couple of years. I only tap 25-30 trees. I have some pictures on the website listed in my profile. I have been building it up so there is about 16-18" between the ground and the bottom of the pans. I am not happy with this arrangement and will either get an evaporator this year or will build it up quite a bit more to allow for a wood grate so I can get some air under the fire. I have found it key to use thinly split wood or dried out sumac branches that burn fast and hot. I have gotten my costs down to about $200/gallon this year, not including beer, coffee, gas, or my time.

Jeff

Maple Flats
12-19-2005, 05:23 PM