PDA

View Full Version : off taste

tbear
03-07-2011, 10:11 AM
Hi,
I've been making syrup for 6 or 7 years. I tap soft maple trees (25-50 taps) not sugar maple ...the soft maples grow here. The sap is collected in aluminum buckets and stored in coolers. I boil in batches outside using a home made "evaporater" then finish the syrup off inside on the stove. The "pre-syrup" looks good, smells good, tastes good. The problem arises as I'm finishing it off. It takes most of the day to do this and right up till the last one or two hours it looks good, smells good and tastes good...then it takes on an unpleasant "off" taste. I use a hygromiter(?) and filter through an orlon (?) filter coupled with a felt filter. The felt filter gets washed in the washing machine and line dried outside. As I said I've been doing this for 6 or 7 years and have as yet to end up with a product that I can use. I guess I'm nothing if not determined! Can anyone tell me where I'm going wrong? Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated. Thanks!

3rdgen.maple
03-07-2011, 10:21 AM
Could just be your cleaning process of your filters. Hot hot water is plenty to clean them. Washing them in the washing machine could lead you to a soap tasting filter. Try it this way. Take samples of your syrup during the whole process from start to finish. When you get to this point in tasting.(the last sample before filtering tasted good and the sample after not so good) you can trace back what you did between those sample and eliminate the problem. Also curious if you have tasted anyone elses homemade syrup to compare flavors with. They vary from place to place but should be similiar.

Southtowns27
03-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Can you describe the off flavor? Is it possible that you're scorching the stuff as you get near to the end? How big is your final batch? What does it look like as it's boiling and as you filter it? Try to give us more info.

highlandcattle
03-07-2011, 11:08 AM