PDA

View Full Version : Neighbors tapped my trees, now what?

prattsap
03-06-2011, 08:40 PM
Bought property 4 years ago, neighbor already had sap lines run, through previous owner, on my property. I noticed that he hadn't sapped in a few years and the taps had been left in trees for at least 3 years. He eventually pulled taps out. He has not sapped since and all lines are still up. The past 2 years I have tapped my trees running new lines and backyard boiling 3 gal syrup every year. I love it. I go to tap this year and neighbor has already tapped my trees to his lines. It is a 300 tap operation, 90 % of the taps are my trees, and we are not talking border trees here. I am new to the trade and might be missing an unwritten rule. I am looking for any insight before I hop in the truck and go INTRODUCE myself!!

Revi
03-06-2011, 08:45 PM
I would definitely talk to the guy. I had some land and the people next to me tapped some of my trees. I told them it was okay if they asked me first. If it bothers you, talk to the guy. It's your land. I'd be nice but firm about it. Say that you know that there was a tradition, etc, but that you are going to be using them now. He wants to be on your good side. If nothing else, he could give you some syrup made with the trees that you can't get to.

Maple Hobo
03-06-2011, 09:24 PM
Its your property, prior agreements are not your's to fulfill.
Try talking nice to them first.

If not, I think its trespassing and all related legal rights for damages and lost revinue apply for your 3 gallons of possible syrup... about 150 ($50 /gallon) on the low end to 300 ($100/gallon) for the syrup alone.

jmayerl
03-06-2011, 09:56 PM