PDA

View Full Version : Hopkinton, We Have Sap!

CitySlicker
03-06-2011, 02:56 PM
small timer here, folks - last year we had 13 bucket taps, upgraded to 19 this year. I put them out on Friday, and today I gathered 8 gallons of sweet nectar.

I'm sure the pros already know this, but I observed that the few trees where I could see around the base of the trees were running - others which still had several feet of snow around them were totally dry.

My 8 gallons of sap came from a total of about 5 buckets, one of which was overflowing (and I'm pretty sure it wasn't rain - I sampled it 4 times!)

palmer4th
03-06-2011, 09:07 PM
Nice!!!!! I have 15 to 20 road side ones down there at a friends that I plan to have tapped by tuesday

Parker
03-07-2011, 04:59 AM
I will be interested to hear how much sap you fellas got overnight...not much snow left around the bottom of the trees now I bet

palmer4th
03-07-2011, 06:14 AM
So This is my first year.... Does it always have to be cold at night to run? whats up with the idea that if it rains all right the sap can keep flowing?

CitySlicker
03-07-2011, 01:49 PM
Parker -
nothing last night - it is getting colder throughout the day today though, down into the teens tonight and then warm tomorrow - sounds like a good recipe for some flow.

Interestingly, there's still tons of snow around my trees. I pounded out some paths with the snowshoes last week, but as soon as it warmed up, my paths proved useless as I sank to my hips. Brutal. So now I have to retrieve my sap with snowshoes - which isn't easy.

Hopefully several warmer days this week will put a dent in the snow supply.

highway
03-07-2011, 08:04 PM
I gathered 90 gallons yesterday and most of it was on snow shoes too. Not a lot of fun. Hope my holding tank does not freeze tonight.

CitySlicker
03-08-2011, 04:05 PM
not much doing today - only 5 1/2 gallons from my 19 taps.

if I have ice in my buckets, I can chuck that, right? no sugar content in the ice?

Backyard Sapper66