PDA

View Full Version : 6 filters and counting

TrentonTerry
03-05-2011, 11:08 AM
This is my first year making syrup. I have read these forums and quite a few blogs over the past few weeks as I made my first four batches of syrup (all 1 cup - 3 cup amounts). While each time I make better syrup, I still have cloudyness issues.

My last iteration went like this (incase its not my filtering technique).

Pour sap collected same day from trees through a prefilter into pot on stove.

Heat up 2 litres of sap on the stove to just under a boil, put into turkey fryer stainless steel pot over propane burner. Repeat this each time the turkey fryer gets to half volume.

When out of sap, kept the turkey fryer boiling until 218.1 (boiling plus 7.1 degrees). Last night I had 3.5 cups of syrup at this point.

Pour through 4 prefilters, the orlon cone and one extra prefilter outside of the orlon cone (tips from this site). The prefilters were all brand new, the orlon cone filter had 7 litres through it already in prior boilings this year. Filters were damp (tips from this forum) and poured into warmed up (but not hot) heavy duty glass measuring cup. I looked at it and it was cloudy already. I made my own filter stand like the one posted here with the ABS and the filter hanging off it.

Then every so slowly warmed the syrup (it was 145 at this point) to 182 and poured into warmed up mason jars.

The end result was just as cloudy. The last 3 batches are the same way (each time i used more filters) the first batch I didnt have an orlon filter so it doesn't count.

What should I try next? Here is a picture of the finished product. Note that the batch that is now 6 days old looks exactly the same with perhaps a tiny bit of nitre at the bottom. I may be being picky, but I want to give this out as a wedding favour this year and don't mind investing the time to get it right.

http://www.vectrainternational.com/photo.JPG

Haynes Forest Products
03-05-2011, 11:38 AM