PDA

View Full Version : Steam hood Problem - Stack undersized or not tall enough?

twofer
03-03-2011, 09:38 AM
Did our first boil last night and promptly turned the sugarhouse into steamshack. The steam hood over the syrup pan is 30"x36" and has a 6" stack. The stack is through the middle of the roof ~2' but does not clear the peak. After the test boil produced too much steam we lowered it down to 9" above the syrup pan and it still had steam bellowing out the bottom and into the sugarhouse.

This is a wood fired arch and this is my first time running it so I'm worried about not being able to see the middle partitions and don't want to drop the hood down on the pan.

Need some help here from the MapleTrader brain trust. Is the stack undersized? Do I need to add more stack and get it higher to maybe increase draft? Am I SOL?

TIA

adk1
03-03-2011, 09:41 AM
Did our first boil last night and promptly turned the sugarhouse into steamshack. The steam hood over the syrup pan is 30"x36" and has a 6" stack. The stack is through the middle of the roof ~2' but does not clear the peak. After the test boil produced too much steam we lowered it down to 9" above the syrup pan and it still had steam bellowing out the bottom and into the sugarhouse.

This is a wood fired arch and this is my first time running it so I'm worried about not being able to see the middle partitions and don't want to drop the hood down on the pan.

Need some help here from the MapleTrader brain trust. Is the stack undersized? Do I need to add more stack and get it higher to maybe increase draft? Am I SOL?

TIA